Blender and Timmy’s Rig

For a long time I have been amazed by some of the renders people can create using minecraft skins, items and full backgrounds. On my skin update post I showed you some preset ones on NovaSkin and in an older section of the blog I had a post spotlighting BrendanDoesRenders who is a person that…well…does renders! You can find the spotlight here.

1

One BrendanDoesRender created for me

Ever since I first saw them I wanted to make them myself. I like how they look on NovaSkin but they don;t have the 3D effects, I can’t make them with a transparent background and on other programmes I’ve found images don’t look as crisp and clean and sometimes look a little fuzzy.

download.png

A quick posed photo using NovaSkin

There are a few programmes you can use to create these images such as cinema 4D and…… but i settled on Blender. It’s free which was a big plus because this was something I wanted to try out to see if I enjoyed doing it and if I enjoyed the results. I have previously tried out Blender and a variety of rigs but I just couldn’t seem to figured it out so after some time away I decided to reinstall and have another go!

new haha.png

The first time I tried to use Blender many months ago

I had previously used a rig called Timmy’s Rig to make my render images and I decided that because I knew a little about it I would use it again. This time I feel like I am able to use it much more confidently and look forward to trying all sorts out with it. You can find the rig for download here.

I found a brilliant tutorial on youtube using Timmy’s Rig by Sinder5 (click here) that I thought was easy to follow and I liked how he went through every step clearly, even helping those without number pads and those who may not know the key-binds and even explained which version of Blender you needed because Timmy’s rig doesn’t seem to work with the latest version. I spent about two hours watching two of the tutorials and decided to have a go with a little extruded hair and then a pose and lighting change. I really like how it came out and I’m looking forward to practising and getting better!

render1

Very basic with minimal hair extrusion

render2

Changed the pose and played around with the lighting

2 thoughts on “Blender and Timmy’s Rig

    • samphorea says:

      I don’t know how you make the actual rig, I downloaded a free one called timmys rig. There are a few different programmes you can use such as cinema 4d but blender if free so i use that. Then i just searched for a rig that could be used in blender and found youtube tutorials on how to do it 🙂 a long process but it’s something I really wanted to learn to do myself!

      Like

Leave a Reply

